NUS Orientation: All the things an NUS freshman needs to know!

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
NUS Orientation: All the things an NUS freshman needs to know!

This forum was set up as a Community of Practice (CoP) for the module NM4218 Knowledge Management: Approaches and Critique. Please feel free to share anything that you think an NUS freshman should know! Thank you for your participation!

5 posters

FASS majors

suling.li

FASS majors Empty FASS majors

Post  suling.li Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:49 pm

Hello everyone!

im a year one student in FASS, still deciding which major to go for! i'd love to know more about psychology, sociology and CNM in particular, but any advice about other majors would also be greatly appreciated! haha anything i should look out for or stay away from?? for example, does psych become very science/math-based later on even though it's an arts subject?

thanks!

cheers,
    Su
    SophiaChua82

FASS majors Empty Info abt psychology

Post  SophiaChua82 Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:09 am

Hi suling!

psych in general is pretty content heavy and yes there is Bio and math stuff! haha Three of the core modules are biological psych, statistics 1 & 2, and these are compulsory. However, if bio and math are not your areas of interest, you can always avoid the elective modules that build upon knowledge from these areas.

FYI, you have to get at least a B- in both stats 1 and the exposure mod (PL1101E)to major in psychology so plan your modules well if you wanna major in psych! Smile

Hope that helps
    sophia
    kuehlapis

FASS majors Empty Re: FASS majors

Post  kuehlapis Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:54 pm

Hi,

I'm still a J2 student and I quite confused as to how ARTS work.